Ahead Of Voting Machine Hack Challenge, Election Commission Looks Nervous

evm hack challenge

The challenge to demonstrate that EVMs can be hacked will kickoff from 3rd June, the Election Commission declared today, at the same time declaring that the machines cannot be hacked and are  tamper-proof.

The statement came over a week later on after Election Commission accepted challenge from political parties to demonstrate that the Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) utilised in the recent assembly polls were hack proof.

“The EVM challenge will start from June 3,” Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said, addressing a press conference. Several leading opposition parties that lost ellections had claimed that the belief of people in the machines has worn out, but had not bought up any similar kind of argument in places where they had won elections. “Our EVMs have strong technological features and are tamper-proof,” he further asserted.

The BSP and AAP had declared that the machines utilised in the past assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur, Goa and Punjab were manipulated with and favoured the BJP. Future, several other parties had united  and waned the EC to turn back to paper ballots. It is important to note that parties held back similar doubts in places where they had won the elections.

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi further added that people who had questioned dependability of EVMs have not yet put forward any proof or substantial material to support their claim. Zaidi informed replacement of the inner circuit of EVMs is not achievable at all. Zaidi rubbished the Aam Aadmi Party’s assertion that EVMs could be haked, and said no manipulation of the Electronic Voting Machines is doable.

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi also added that improving the election procedure is a obligation of all stakeholders and the EC is taking all essential steps in this respect. The EC has already declared that it will assure paper trail of voting in all forthcoming elections to the Lok Sabha and state legislative assemblies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here