Arjuna Awardees 2018- the highest grace in sports

Dating its history back to 1961, Arjuna Award is rewarded by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports under the Government of India. Any sportsperson who exhibits outstanding performance at the international level for four consecutive years also depicting the values of leadership, sportsmanship and teamwork are awarded 5 lakh INR and bronze statue with the tag Arjuna award. Read more to know the Arjuna Awardees 2018.

Arjuna Awardees 2018

The gems of our country honored by the Arjuna Award are: –

  • Hema Das in Athletics
  • Sathiyan Gnanasekaran in Table Tennis
  • Rahi Sarnobat in Shooting
  • Savita Punia in Hockey
  • Manoj Sarkar in Para-Badminton
  • Smriti Mandhana in Cricket
  • Ankur Mittal in Shooting
  • Shreyasi Singh in Shooting
  • Satish Kumar in Boxing
  • Col. Ravi Rathore in Polo
  • Manika Batra in Table Tennis
  • Neeraj Chopra in Athletics
  • Sumit Malik in Wrestling
  • N. Sikki Reddy in Badminton
  • Manpreet Singh in Hockey
  • Ankur Dhama in Para-athletics
  • Jinson Johnson in Athletics
  • Pooja Kadian in Wushu
  • Shubhankar Sharma in Golf
  • Rohan Bopanna in Lawn Tennis.

A few of the Winning Stories

This award holds a very special place and cannot be won by merely anybody. It requires a lot of hard work and dedication towards your field.

Our Dhing Express, village girl Hima Das never lost hope and enthusiasm. She is too dedicated and with her exceptional performance as a sprint runner made the nation proud.

Sumit Malik won the Arjuna Award for freestyle wrestling in 125kg category. This Rohtak lad crossed many hurdles to reach this level of success.

N. Sikki Reddy plays doubles in badminton. With her countless achievements in her field, she has reached the list of Arjuna Award winners.

Pooja Kadian, the Washu player, with her utmost dedication and strength, marked her name high in the world.

The Indian Men’s National Field Hockey team’s captain, Manpreet Singh Pawar, made his debut in 2011. Within the past 7 years, he worked hard and overpowered many senior players.

Shubhankar Sharma is the sunlight to the game of golf and has won many championships. He is famous nationally as well as internationally for the country to make the nation proud. His hard work paid off in the form of the Arjuna Award.

With the 58th rank in the world ranking of table tennis players, Manika Batra is one of the Arjuna Awardees 2018. Her elder siblings influenced her for playing table tennis.

Ankur Dhama is visually challenged and has won the Arjuna Award for para-athletics. His physical disability also could not restrain him from achieving heights.

Getting an Arjuna Award is no joke because it requires high levels of commitment and devotion. Congratulations to the winners.

Thank You for Making the India Proud!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.