7 Favorite Cricket Teams for Winning the Big Bash in the 2022/2021 Season

The Big Bash League is a professional cricket league organized in Australia. This league was founded in 2011 by Cricket Australia, the government body for professional and amateur cricket in Australia. Experts rated it as one of the two best leagues in the world dedicated to this sport, along with the Indian Premier League. Eight teams participate in the tournament every year, and it’s organized in the summer period, which includes December, January, and February in the southern hemisphere. When the idea of organizing this tournament was born in 2011, a total of 28 matches were played in the group stage, and since the next season, the number of matches has increased to 32. Each team recorded some successes and 6 teams won the title at least once. Perth Scorchers stands out as the most successful because they won the title three times and reached the finals five times. The victory in the last competition was taken by the Sydney Sixers and they are the current champions.

This competition will traditionally be played in 2022, and for all those who like sports betting, this would be the perfect opportunity to support their favorites and earn something along the way. Although the current global context that prevents you from going to the nearest betting place, you can do that online and for more details visit this site. To help you decide who to support, here are some favorites to win.

1. Melbourne Stars

Source: finder.com.au

Melbourne Stars is one of the Australian teams based in Melbourne, Victoria. It was founded in 2011 and the current captain and coach are David Hassi. Home games are played at Melbourne Cricket Ground, which is the largest cricket stadium in the world. They are recognizable by their green jerseys.

The longest-serving player, Marcus Stoinis, had a special success, achieving an impressive individual result of 147 against the Sydney Sixers in MCG. This was not the only player of theirs who stood out with such good results. Some of the best performers were Luke Wright, Glenn McWell, David Hussey, Kevin Pietersen, Peter Handscomb, and others. The group’s mascots are Starman & Starlet.

2. Sydney Sixers

Source: dailyexaminer.com.au

The Sydney Sixers are a professional men’s cricket team that competes every year in Twenty20, the Big Bash League. As we mentioned earlier, they are the current champions. They are one of the successors of the Blues from New South Wales who were once regular participants in the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash tournament. Their field is Sydney Cricket Ground where they play their matches.

Winning the 2022 tournament is not the only triumph of the Sydney Sixers. They recorded another victory on January 28, 2012, when they took the title of inaugural champions, playing on the field of VACA. After that victory, they competed in the Champions League Twenty20 tournament in October of the same year, where they also took the victory.

3. Adelaide Strikers

Source: adelaidestrikers.com.au

The Adelaide Strikers are located in South Australia and represent Adelaide in the competition, as the name suggests. The home stadium where they play is Adelaide Oval and they were founded in 2011, to participate in the Big Bash League. Their jersey consists of a blue uniform with the West End Draft logo. They are the heirs of the Southern Redbacks.

In the 2017 season, the Aledaide Strikers were named the most fun team. For the first eight seasons of the competition, the Strikers maintained a fantastic record of 6-0, and they suffered their first defeat in the ninth season on New Year’s Eve.

4. Brisbane Heat

Source: cricket.com.au

Brisbane Heat is another professional competition team based in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. The home stadium in Brisbane is The Gabba, coach Darren Lehmann and captain Chris Lynn. It was founded in 2011, like all other competitors, and they advanced to the Champions League Twenty20 by winning the Big Bash League in the second season.

They recorded their first victory on the field of VACA in 2013, defeating Perth Scorchers in the final. Joe Burns then stood out with 167 points. Earlier and later participation ended mainly with the placement on the 5th or 6th place. Except in 2017 when they were defeated in the superfinal.

5. Hobart Hurricanes

Source: cricket.com.au

This team is based in Tasmania and together with other international players form part of the Big Bash League. Their uniform is purple and they play their home matches at the Blundstone Arena. D’Arcy Short, George Bailey, Ben McDermott, Matthew Wade, Jofra Archer, and Dan Christian stand out as the best players in the hurricane. The team captain is Ben McDermott and the coach is Adam Griffith.

In the 2017 season, Hobart set the biggest team record with 8/223 against the Melbourne Renegades. They reached the record with the most individual runs in 2018 with a total of 465 runs in the first 7 games.

6. Perth Scorchers

Source: cricket.com.au

Western Australia was not left without its representatives either, so Perth sent Perth Scorchers to the competition. They were founded in 2011 and the home stadium in Perth where they play their matches is Optus Stadium. The captain who leads them is called Mitchell Marsh, and the coach is Adam Foges.

Thanks to the enviable results they have achieved, they are considered the most successful team in the tournament ever. They won the championship three times and reached the final twice. The Brisbane Heat defeated them in the second season, but in the next two championships, they took the victory over Hobart Hurricanes and the Sydney Sixers.

7. Melbourne Renegades

Source: cricket.com.au

In addition to the Melbourne stars, Melbourne also sent Melbourne Renegades, another group of professional players to achieve the best possible results. Renegades comes from the Australian state of Victoria and has its beginnings at the Etihad Stadium. It was founded in 2011 and today is led by captain Aaron Finch and coach Michael Klinger. Home matches are also played at Marvel Stadiums and Geelong’s GMHBA Stadium.

They took their first victory with BBL08 over their rivals from Melbourne. Players who stood out in all tournaments for their results are Aaron Finch, Cameron Boice, Tom Cooper, Sam Harper, Mohammad Nabi, and Nathan Rimmington.

Now that you look at their successes, who seems to you to be the potential winner of Big Bash in the 2022/2021 season?